Ypyrinneva BESS
Announced, 12 MW · 24 MWh, in Kuortane, owned by Ilmatar (developer; later owner not stated). Every fact below is as a published source states it, with the address beside it; a field not shown is one no source gave, and nothing is guessed.
The battery
| Power | 12 MW |
| Capacity | 24 MWh |
| Duration | 2.0 hours |
| Status | Announced, as of 12 October 2026 |
| Owner’s date | 2028, expected |
| Municipality | Kuortane |
| Placed on the map | at the centre of Kuortane, its municipality (GeoNames) |
Who is behind it
| Owner | Ilmatar (developer; later owner not stated) |
| Developer | Ilmatar |
Ilmatar Battery Development Oy (3337232-9, website ilmatar.fi) exists in YTJ; no source says which company holds this project.
Not published anywhere we have found: ultimate owner, built by, cells. The page says so rather than guessing.
What the sources say
Ilmatar project page (read 12 Oct 2026): stage "under development", estimated figures, operational 2028. The page header says 30 MW total capacity; its text says the storage is 12 MW / 24 MWh at the Ypyrinneva solar farm, so 12 MW is used.
Evidence and sources
From the owners’, developers’ and builders’ own releases, council decisions and permit bulletins, read by Vitreous and checked against the owners’ own words on 12 October 2026; a bracket such as “(Energy-Storage.news only)” in a field means the trade press is still the only source for it. Fingrid publishes no meter, no price and no instruction per battery, so this page carries no money: what one megawatt is paid in Fingrid’s markets is on the markets page, for the whole market and never for a named battery. List id FI-B073.