Owners traced for 3,353 MW of Germany’s 4,337 MW of operating batteries, and confirmed for 1,787 MW.
The register names the company that runs each battery. The owner behind that company is in the commercial register (Handelsregister), which allows 60 look-ups an hour and is read by hand. We have read it for the largest families and grouped the rest by shared company address, and added owners named in published sources. An owner is confirmed when we read the company’s own entry or shareholder list, or the owner says so in its own publication. A trade press report counts as traced, and stays unconfirmed until the owner or the commercial register says so. An owner is inferred when the company only shares an address with a family we checked.
| Family | Ultimate owner | MW operating | Sites |
|---|---|---|---|
| RWE | RWE AG, Essen | 365 | 8 |
| Münch Energie | Münch Gruppe, Rugendorf (family business; owners not named) | 237 | 3 |
| B Capital Partners (bought from Smart Power) | Infrastructure funds managed by B Capital Partners AG, Zurich (BCP Battery Holding platform) | 130 | 6 |
| Energiebauern | Energiebauern GmbH, Sielenbach (Amtsgericht Augsburg HRB 20289); its own shareholders were not checked; private individuals hold part of one older company | 130 | 30 |
| terralayr (trlyr) | terralayr AG, Zug; venture backed, with Eurazeo leading its January 2026 round; no controlling owner published | 117 | 9 |
| Aquila | Achmea IM Climate Infrastructure Fund 49 % and One Planet Investment S.à r.l., Luxembourg 51 %; Aquila says a fund it manages owns the plant | 106 | 2 |
| VERBUND | VERBUND AG, Vienna | 106 | 7 |
| Nofar Energy (bought from Kyon) | Nofar Energy, with a stake sold to EB-SIM (Evangelische Bank) in December 2025 | 104 | 1 |
| Alpiq (bought from Eco Stor) | Alpiq Holding AG, Switzerland | 104 | 1 |
| MW Storage (Arzberg) | MW Storage AG, Switzerland, with its MW Storage Fund and Reichmuth Infrastructure; Bayernwerk and ZukunftsEnergie Nordostbayern also invested | 101 | 1 |
| Scale (bought from Obton, developed by Kyon) | Scale Storage Alfeld ApS, Denmark (the Scale fund that Kyon names as its partner); Obton still provides the general partner | 99 | 1 |
| MEAG (Munich Re) | Munich Re, through its asset manager MEAG | 92 | 1 |
| Enerparc | Enerparc AG, Hamburg, in preliminary insolvency since 7 September 2026, with a sale of the group under way | 92 | 12 |
| Iqony (STEAG) | STEAG GmbH, Essen; its supervisory board's shareholder representatives come from Asterion Industrial Partners | 90 | 5 |
| ju:niz Energy, formerly Smart Power (EQT) | EQT (Transition Infrastructure), which announced its purchase of ju:niz Energy on 5 December 2024; held through Boost Bidco GmbH | 88 | 7 |
| green flexibility | green flexibility, Kempten; Partners Group committed up to 400 million euros of equity in January 2025 | 84 | 5 |
| LEAG | EP Group, through LEAG GmbH | 66 | 1 |
| Obton | Obton A/S, Denmark: each company's limited partner is an Obton investor partnership (P/S) in Aarhus | 64 | 4 |
| Anumar | Anumar group, Ingolstadt: Anumar GmbH (HRB 5679) is general partner and Anumar Energie GmbH (HRB 6624) limited partner; their shareholders were not checked | 53 | 20 |
| Eneco and Mitsubishi Corporation (EnspireME) | Eneco and Mitsubishi Corporation, joint owners as of 2018 | 48 | 1 |
| EnBW | EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG | 47 | 12 |
| VISPIRON | Joint venture: VISPIRON ECO INVESTMENT GmbH 40 %, Städtische Betriebe Haßfurt GmbH (the Haßfurt town utility) 40 %, Green Planet Energy eG 20 %, by contribution | 44 | 13 |
| E.ON (Bayernwerk) | E.ON SE (Bayernwerk is a 100% E.ON subsidiary per Bayernwerk release of 27 Jun 2014: https://bayernwerk-ag.mynewsdesk.com/pressreleases/bayernwerk-ubernimmt-bayerisches-hochspannungsnetz-des-e-on-konzerns-1109067.pdf) | 43 | 5 |
| Solarpark Verwaltung I, Aalen (J.T. Holding and ToCoBer Holding) | J.T. Holding GmbH, Merkendorf 52 % and ToCoBer Holding GmbH, Aalen 48 %; their own shareholders were not checked | 38 | 1 |
| Merkendorf: MHB Montage, J.T. Holding and ENSoXX | ENSoXX Invest GmbH, Gunzenhausen two thirds and J.T. Holding GmbH, Merkendorf one third; their own shareholders were not checked | 37 | 3 |
| Stadtwerke München | Stadtwerke München | 35 | 2 |
| Upside (BES) | Upside Group, Dülmen | 34 | 3 |
| Bürgerwindpark Reußenköge (citizen-owned) | Local residents of Reußenköge (citizen wind park; privately held) | 33 | 1 |
| Stadtwerke Halle (EVH) | Stadtwerke Halle group (EVH is 'ein Unternehmen der Stadtwerke Halle-Gruppe', ZfK 30 Jun 2020) | 32 | 1 |
| Batteriespeicher-Park Worms (EWR, W Power, Timbra) | EWR AG, W Power and Timbra, the founders of Batteriespeicher-Park Worms GmbH | 30 | 1 |
| The Mobility House / GETEC (Coulomb) | The Mobility House and GETEC Energie (joint venture; GlobalData describes Coulomb as a GETEC subsidiary) | 29 | 2 |
| Kyon Energy (TotalEnergies) | TotalEnergies SE, through Kyon Energy | 28 | 2 |
| enercity | enercity AG (the operator itself) | 26 | 2 |
| Tauber-Solar | Tauber-Solar Holding GmbH, Tauberbischofsheim (Amtsgericht Mannheim HRB 560694); its own shareholders were not checked | 26 | 2 |
| JT Energy Systems (Jungheinrich and Triathlon) | A joint venture of Jungheinrich and Triathlon | 25 | 1 |
| Allgäuer Überlandwerk | Allgäuer Überlandwerk GmbH (its own owners not checked) | 25 | 1 |
| RheinEnergie | RheinEnergie AG, Cologne | 24 | 1 |
| Second Foundation | Second Foundation (Czech; founder is main shareholder, privately held) | 24 | 2 |
| ESG-Solar (Energiesysteme Groß) | Not published | 21 | 2 |
| Schoenergie | Schoenergie, a family-owned German renewable energy company | 20 | 1 |
| Deutsche Telekom | Deutsche Telekom AG | 20 | 4 |
| Trianel (TEP) | Trianel Energieprojekte GmbH & Co. KG, Aachen, the project company of Trianel GmbH, which municipal utilities own; its own partners were not checked | 18 | 2 |
| SWW Wunsiedel | WUN H2 GmbH, a hydrogen company at the town utility's address; its shareholders were not checked | 18 | 2 |
| swb | swb, through its generation division | 18 | 1 |
| Schaper Group | Schaper Group | 18 | 1 |
| Statkraft | Statkraft (Norwegian energy company) | 18 | 1 |
| KGAL | KGAL (asset manager, Grünwald) via its fund ESPF 5 | 17 | 1 |
| Field | Field | 16 | 1 |
| Hamburger Energiewerke with WEMAG (mea) | Hamburger Energiewerke GmbH, Hamburg 74.9 % and mea Energieagentur Mecklenburg-Vorpommern GmbH (WEMAG group) 25.1 %, by liability amount | 16 | 2 |
| Thüga / eins energie in sachsen | Thüga Erneuerbare Energien and eins energie in sachsen | 16 | 1 |
| BMW Group | BMW AG | 15 | 2 |
| E.ON (LEW) | E.ON SE (holds 89.87% of Lechwerke AG indirectly, same report) | 15 | 2 |
| E.ON (Avacon) | E.ON group (over 80 municipalities and districts hold 38.5% of Avacon) | 15 | 1 |
| WEMAG | WEMAG AG, Schwerin (Amtsgericht Schwerin HRB 615) | 15 | 1 |
| Lechwerke (LEW) | Lechwerke AG (LEW), Augsburg | 14 | 2 |
| ENGIE | ENGIE group | 12 | 1 |
| Blue Elephant Energy | Blue Elephant Energy | 12 | 1 |
| EWE (be.storaged) | EWE AG | 12 | 1 |
| Capital Dynamics with Münch Energie | Capital Dynamics Clean Energy funds 80 % (CE EU Lux Holdco S.à r.l.), Münch Energie 20 % (Münch Kraftwerke II GmbH & Co. KG) | 12 | 1 |
| Nordic Solar | Nordic Solar | 11 | 1 |
| CCE | CCE Holding; co-founded 2021 with Ärzteversorgung Thüringen; Omnes took a stake end 2022 | 11 | 1 |
| Wirth-Gruppe (W Power) | Wirth-Gruppe (Waghäusel) | 10 | 1 |
| Energiequelle / Enercon | Energiequelle, Enercon and partners | 10 | 1 |
| Icecreek Energy | Icecreek Energy (Alsdorf and Vordorf financed by Triodos Energy Transition Europe Fund, per CMS 7 Oct 2025) | 9.6 | 1 |
| Stadt Ludwigshafen (TWL) | City of Ludwigshafen am Rhein | 9 | 1 |
| Stadtwerke Feuchtwangen | Stadtwerke Feuchtwangen with the town of Feuchtwangen (shareholding not stated) | 8.6 | 1 |
| Stadtwerke Bielefeld | Stadtwerke Bielefeld (shareholders not stated on source) | 7.5 | 1 |
| VWEW-energie (Kaufbeuren) | Municipalities led by the City of Kaufbeuren (as of Dec 2018) | 7.3 | 1 |
| EEW Energy from Waste | EEW Energy from Waste group (group owner not stated on source) | 7 | 1 |
| Stadt Dinslaken | City of Dinslaken | 7.0 | 1 |
| RheinEnergie (Stadtwerke Köln) | Stadtwerke Köln group (municipal; RheinEnergie called a 'kommunale Unternehmen' by ZfK, 24 Jul 2023) | 6.9 | 1 |
| CTP | CTP | 6.8 | 1 |
| Dr. Oetker | Dr. August Oetker KG (privately held) | 6.8 | 1 |
| Gemeinde Fuchstal | Municipality of Fuchstal (the operator is the municipality itself) | 5.8 | 1 |
| Volkswagen (Everllence) | Volkswagen AG, with Bain Capital to hold 51% once the sale closes | 5.8 | 1 |
| LHI | LHI Gruppe | 5.2 | 1 |
| APEX Group (exceet) | exceet Group SCA (listed) | 5.1 | 1 |
| Upside Group | Upside Group (owners not stated) | 5 | 1 |
| Renoc / LION Smart / Stadtwerke Finsterwalde | Not published (LION Smart is part of listed LION E-Mobility AG) | 5 | 1 |
| Porsche | Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG | 5 | 1 |
RWE
365 MW at 8 sites. Ultimate owner: RWE AG, Essen.
Batteriespeicher Westfalen 1 (140 MW), Batteriespeicher Neurath (80 MW), Batteriespeicher Werne (72 MW), Batteriespeicher Emsland (45 MW), Batteriespeicher Herdecke (12 MW), Batteriespeicher Garzweiler (6.5 MW), Batteriespeicher Inden (4.8 MW), Batteriespeicher Jackerath (4.0 MW)
365 MW from the owner’s publication.
Münch Energie
237 MW at 3 sites. Ultimate owner: Münch Gruppe, Rugendorf (family business; owners not named).
BESS Leuna (185 MW), BESS Krumpa I (46 MW), BESS Fischbach (5.5 MW)
232 MW inferred and 5.5 MW confirmed in the commercial register.
B Capital Partners (bought from Smart Power)
130 MW at 6 sites. Ultimate owner: Infrastructure funds managed by B Capital Partners AG, Zurich (BCP Battery Holding platform).
SMAREG4 Wartburgspeicher Eisenach (60 MW), SMAREG9 Freiberg (20 MW), BES BEN (16 MW), SMAREG3 Eisfeld (12 MW), SMAREG5 Hildburghausen (12 MW), SMAREG 1 (10 MW)
130 MW confirmed in the commercial register.
Energiebauern
130 MW at 30 sites. Ultimate owner: Energiebauern GmbH, Sielenbach (Amtsgericht Augsburg HRB 20289); its own shareholders were not checked; private individuals hold part of one older company.
Köpfelholz - BESS (12 MW), Speicher Jerchel West - Teilanlage (11 MW), Speicher (11 MW), Speicher Buch (7 MW), Speicher Ottmarsfeld Nord (5.6 MW), Speicher Schmelchen (4.8 MW), Rötenbach - BESS 1 (4.5 MW), Seibersdorf - BESS (4.5 MW), Reutern - BESS 1 (4.5 MW), Speicher Volkershausen (4.2 MW), Schweinberg - BESS (3.5 MW), Speicher Hiersdorf BA 1 (3.5 MW), Speicher Aichkirchen BA 1 (3.5 MW), Speicher Eichkreith BA 1 (3.4 MW), Speicher Taiting BA 1 (3.4 MW), Speicher Übermatzhofen II BA 1 (3.4 MW), Speicher Finsterwalde III (3.4 MW), Speicher Weikerstetten BA 1 (3.4 MW), Speicher Granheim II BA 1 (3.4 MW), Arnsdorf - BESS (3.2 MW), Speicher Osterberg (3.2 MW), Speicher Hallenhausen (3.2 MW), Speicher Otterzhofen West - Teilanlage 1 (3.1 MW), Speicher Pfannenstiel (2.8 MW), Speicher Hohenzant I BA 2 (2.8 MW), Speicher Völkersleier (2.8 MW), Speicher Otterzhofen Süd (2.8 MW), Hinterer Grieß - BESS (2.4 MW), Speicher Veitswend (2.1 MW), Speicher Mühlbuck (1.6 MW)
108 MW inferred and 23 MW confirmed in the commercial register.
terralayr (trlyr)
117 MW at 9 sites. Ultimate owner: terralayr AG, Zug; venture backed, with Eurazeo leading its January 2026 round; no controlling owner published.
trlyr 8 (20 MW), trlyr 9 (17 MW), trlyr 4 (16 MW), trlyr 5 (15 MW), trlyr 31 (13 MW), trlyr 3 (10 MW), trlyr 2 (10 MW), trlyr 7 (8 MW), trlyr 1 (6.9 MW)
66 MW confirmed in the commercial register and 50 MW inferred.
Aquila
106 MW at 2 sites. Ultimate owner: Achmea IM Climate Infrastructure Fund 49 % and One Planet Investment S.à r.l., Luxembourg 51 %; Aquila says a fund it manages owns the plant.
BESS Wetzen (56 MW), BESS Strübbel (50 MW)
106 MW confirmed in the commercial register.
VERBUND
106 MW at 7 sites. Ultimate owner: VERBUND AG, Vienna.
Batterie Iphofen (21 MW), Batterie Diespeck (21 MW), Batterie Schwabmünchen (16 MW), Batterie Rechtenbach (16 MW), Batterie Hessisch Lichtenau (12 MW), Batterie Eisenach (10 MW), Batterie Breitenworbis (10 MW)
106 MW from the owner’s publication.
Nofar Energy (bought from Kyon)
104 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Nofar Energy, with a stake sold to EB-SIM (Evangelische Bank) in December 2025.
Stendal BESS (104 MW)
104 MW inferred.
Alpiq (bought from Eco Stor)
104 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Alpiq Holding AG, Switzerland.
ECO POWER ONE (104 MW)
104 MW confirmed in the commercial register.
MW Storage (Arzberg)
101 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: MW Storage AG, Switzerland, with its MW Storage Fund and Reichmuth Infrastructure; Bayernwerk and ZukunftsEnergie Nordostbayern also invested.
BESS Arzberg (101 MW)
101 MW from the owner’s publication.
Scale (bought from Obton, developed by Kyon)
99 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Scale Storage Alfeld ApS, Denmark (the Scale fund that Kyon names as its partner); Obton still provides the general partner.
Großbatteriespeicher Alfeld (99 MW)
99 MW confirmed in the commercial register.
MEAG (Munich Re)
92 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Munich Re, through its asset manager MEAG.
Batteriepark Metelen (92 MW)
92 MW reported in the trade press.
Enerparc
92 MW at 12 sites. Ultimate owner: Enerparc AG, Hamburg, in preliminary insolvency since 7 September 2026, with a sale of the group under way.
Hesweiler 1.1 Speicher (13 MW), Zell 1.1 Speicher (13 MW), Büttel Speicher (12 MW), Aasbüttel Speicher (10 MW), Zwickau 2 Speicher (8.5 MW), Warringholz Speicher (7.7 MW), Ehndorf 1.1 Speicher (6.9 MW), Lemwerder 1 Speicher (6.9 MW), Geschendorf Speicher (6.7 MW), Dolgelin Speicher (4.2 MW), Walle Speicher (1.8 MW), Crinitz 1 Speicher (1.8 MW)
79 MW inferred and 13 MW confirmed in the commercial register.
Iqony (STEAG)
90 MW at 5 sites. Ultimate owner: STEAG GmbH, Essen; its supervisory board's shareholder representatives come from Asterion Industrial Partners.
GBS KW Bexbach (30 MW), GBS KW Fenne (15 MW), GBS KW Weiher (15 MW), GBS KW Walsum (15 MW), GBS KW Herne (15 MW)
90 MW inferred.
ju:niz Energy, formerly Smart Power (EQT)
88 MW at 7 sites. Ultimate owner: EQT (Transition Infrastructure), which announced its purchase of ju:niz Energy on 5 December 2024; held through Boost Bidco GmbH.
SMAREG6 Gunzenhausen (24 MW), SMAREG8 Calbe (20 MW), SMAREG12 Vöhringen I (20 MW), SMAREG7 Monheim (12 MW), SMAREG14 Lößnitz (9.8 MW), Batteriespeicher Garching Römerhofweg (1.4 MW), PRL Trostberg (1 MW)
86 MW confirmed in the commercial register and 2.4 MW inferred.
green flexibility
84 MW at 5 sites. Ultimate owner: green flexibility, Kempten; Partners Group committed up to 400 million euros of equity in January 2025.
BESS Balzhausen 2 green flexibility (38 MW), BESS Immenstadt (16 MW), green flexibility BESS Ennigerloh GmbH (10 MW), Batteriespeicher Marktoberdorf (9.9 MW), green flexibility BESS Nr. 123 gmbh (9.9 MW)
68 MW inferred and 16 MW reported in the trade press.
LEAG
66 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: EP Group, through LEAG GmbH.
Big Battery Lausitz (66 MW)
66 MW from the owner’s publication.
Obton
64 MW at 4 sites. Ultimate owner: Obton A/S, Denmark: each company's limited partner is an Obton investor partnership (P/S) in Aarhus.
Speicher Karstädt (21 MW), Speicher Tangermünde (16 MW), Bad Düben Battery Storage (14 MW), Elsteraue Battery Storage (14 MW)
64 MW confirmed in the commercial register.
Anumar
53 MW at 20 sites. Ultimate owner: Anumar group, Ingolstadt: Anumar GmbH (HRB 5679) is general partner and Anumar Energie GmbH (HRB 6624) limited partner; their shareholders were not checked.
Speicher Schrobenhausen-Sandizell I - P20-105 - Teil (7 MW), Speicher Altdorf bei Nürnberg II - P23-349 - BESS 5.000,00 kW Inn23-2/028 (5 MW), Speicher Schweitenkirchen (5 MW), Speicher Martinsheim - P23-148 - 4.000,00 kW Inn23-2/034 (4 MW), Speicher Wölfersheim - P23-039 - 3.000,00 kW Inn23-2/038 (3 MW), P23-408 Solarpark Parsberg V - 3.000 kW Inn24-1/036 BESS (3 MW), Speicher Colbitz II - P23-206 - Inn23-2/029 - 3.000 kW (3 MW), Speicher Prosselsheim - P23-089 - 3.000 kW - Inn23-2/026 (3 MW), Speicher Mosbach - P18-016 (2.0 MW), Solarpark Denkendorf V - P23-354 - BESS 2.000,00 kW Inn23-2/036 (2 MW), Speicher Winterbach II - P21-474 - Speicher (2 MW), Speicher Allershausen - P23-268 - 2.000,00 kW 4.064 kWh BESS Inn24-2/131 (2 MW), Speicher Weinheim - P23-055 (2 MW), Speicher Stamsried - P22-221 (2 MW), Speicher Laaber - P23-003 - BESS 2.000,00 kW - Inn23-2/023 (2 MW), Speicher Sappenfeld - P22-271 - 2.000 kW Inn23-2/035 (2 MW), Solarpark Altmannstein-Steinsdorf PR - P23-112 - BESS 1.080,00 kW (1.1 MW), Speicher Pondorf PR - P23-595 - 1.016kW Inn24-2/121 (1.0 MW), Speicher Reichertshofen IV - P22-230 - 1.000,00 kW BESS Inn24-2/109 (1 MW), Speicher Adelsheim - P21-096 - 1.000 kW Inn23-2/043 (1 MW)
53 MW inferred.
Eneco and Mitsubishi Corporation (EnspireME)
48 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Eneco and Mitsubishi Corporation, joint owners as of 2018.
BESS Jardelund (48 MW)
48 MW from the owner’s publication.
EnBW
47 MW at 12 sites. Ultimate owner: EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG.
SP Görlsdorf Speicher (9.2 MW), SP Elzhausen Speicher (9.2 MW), SP Geislingen Speicher (4.6 MW), Solarpark Adelsheim Speicher (4.6 MW), PV Anlage Öhringen Speicher (4.4 MW), Speicher Brandscheid (2.7 MW), Karlsruhe RDK ESBS (2.7 MW), WP Häusern Speicher (2.3 MW), Solarpark Wangen im Allgäu Speicher (2.2 MW), PV Anlage Alttrebbin Speicher (1.6 MW), PV Anlage Gottesgabe Speicher (1.6 MW), Solarpark Bruchsal-Untergrombach Speicher (1.5 MW)
44 MW inferred and 2.7 MW from the owner’s publication.
VISPIRON
44 MW at 13 sites. Ultimate owner: Joint venture: VISPIRON ECO INVESTMENT GmbH 40 %, Städtische Betriebe Haßfurt GmbH (the Haßfurt town utility) 40 %, Green Planet Energy eG 20 %, by contribution.
BESS Haßfurt (9.2 MW), Inno BESS Hallbergmoos (6.5 MW), Trading-BESS Steingaden (6 MW), ECO Battery 3 - Trading Egling (4.6 MW), BESS Maisach (4 MW), BESS Trading Obersöchering (3 MW), VSP 30 GmbH & Co. KG - Inno-Speicher Calbe (2.5 MW), BESS Weßling (2.1 MW), BESS Antdorf (1.6 MW), BESS Uffing (1 MW), BESS Oberrohrbach (1 MW), BESS Tautenhain (1 MW), BESS Peißenberg (1 MW)
34 MW inferred and 9.2 MW confirmed in the commercial register.
E.ON (Bayernwerk)
43 MW at 5 sites. Ultimate owner: E.ON SE (Bayernwerk is a 100% E.ON subsidiary per Bayernwerk release of 27 Jun 2014: https://bayernwerk-ag.mynewsdesk.com/pressreleases/bayernwerk-ubernimmt-bayerisches-hochspannungsnetz-des-e-on-konzerns-1109067.pdf).
Batteriespeicher Reisgang (15 MW), Batteriespeicher Marktleugast (15 MW), Batteriespeicheranlage Poing (7.6 MW), ABO Wind Batterie Leutershausen (2.9 MW), Batteriespeicher Gödenroth (2.5 MW)
43 MW from the owner’s publication.
Solarpark Verwaltung I, Aalen (J.T. Holding and ToCoBer Holding)
38 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: J.T. Holding GmbH, Merkendorf 52 % and ToCoBer Holding GmbH, Aalen 48 %; their own shareholders were not checked.
BESS Löwenberger Land (38 MW)
38 MW confirmed in the commercial register.
Merkendorf: MHB Montage, J.T. Holding and ENSoXX
37 MW at 3 sites. Ultimate owner: ENSoXX Invest GmbH, Gunzenhausen two thirds and J.T. Holding GmbH, Merkendorf one third; their own shareholders were not checked.
Gumtow_SO1 Speicher (13 MW), Gumtow_SO4 Speicher (13 MW), Gumtow_SO5 Speicher (12 MW)
37 MW confirmed in the commercial register.
Stadtwerke München
35 MW at 2 sites. Ultimate owner: Stadtwerke München.
SWM Uppenborn 1 (26 MW), SWM HKW Freimann (9 MW)
35 MW reported in the trade press.
Upside (BES)
34 MW at 3 sites. Ultimate owner: Upside Group, Dülmen.
BES GRO (16 MW), BES LRB (16 MW), Wittstock (1.6 MW)
33 MW inferred and 1.6 MW confirmed in the commercial register.
Bürgerwindpark Reußenköge (citizen-owned)
33 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Local residents of Reußenköge (citizen wind park; privately held).
Windpark Reußenköge batteries (33 MW)
33 MW reported in the trade press.
Stadtwerke Halle (EVH)
32 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Stadtwerke Halle group (EVH is 'ein Unternehmen der Stadtwerke Halle-Gruppe', ZfK 30 Jun 2020).
BESS Kahsel (32 MW)
32 MW inferred.
Batteriespeicher-Park Worms (EWR, W Power, Timbra)
30 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: EWR AG, W Power and Timbra, the founders of Batteriespeicher-Park Worms GmbH.
Batteriespeicher-Park Worms (30 MW)
30 MW from the owner’s publication.
The Mobility House / GETEC (Coulomb)
29 MW at 2 sites. Ultimate owner: The Mobility House and GETEC Energie (joint venture; GlobalData describes Coulomb as a GETEC subsidiary).
Q_ESS_Elverlingsen (17 MW), Q_ESS_Luenen (12 MW)
29 MW from the owner’s publication.
Kyon Energy (TotalEnergies)
28 MW at 2 sites. Ultimate owner: TotalEnergies SE, through Kyon Energy.
Kyon-41 Battery Storage (20 MW), Kyon-29 Battery Storage (8.3 MW)
28 MW inferred.
enercity
26 MW at 2 sites. Ultimate owner: enercity AG (the operator itself).
Batteriespeicher Herrenhausen (14 MW), BES DD (12 MW)
14 MW from the owner’s publication and 12 MW inferred.
Tauber-Solar
26 MW at 2 sites. Ultimate owner: Tauber-Solar Holding GmbH, Tauberbischofsheim (Amtsgericht Mannheim HRB 560694); its own shareholders were not checked.
BESS Wertheim (16 MW), BESS Waltershausen (10 MW)
26 MW inferred.
JT Energy Systems (Jungheinrich and Triathlon)
25 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: A joint venture of Jungheinrich and Triathlon.
Batteriespeicher JT Energy Systems GmbH (25 MW)
25 MW from the owner’s publication.
Allgäuer Überlandwerk
25 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Allgäuer Überlandwerk GmbH (its own owners not checked).
Allgäuer Überlandwerk batteries at Au (25 MW)
25 MW reported in the trade press.
RheinEnergie
24 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: RheinEnergie AG, Cologne.
BESS-Einbeck (24 MW)
24 MW reported in the trade press.
Second Foundation
24 MW at 2 sites. Ultimate owner: Second Foundation (Czech; founder is main shareholder, privately held).
Second Foundation BESS Oberröblingen (14 MW), Second Foundation BESS Königsee (10 MW)
14 MW inferred and 10 MW reported in the trade press.
ESG-Solar (Energiesysteme Groß)
21 MW at 2 sites. Ultimate owner: Not published.
GS Solargarten (14 MW), Lossewerk (6.8 MW)
21 MW inferred.
Schoenergie
20 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Schoenergie, a family-owned German renewable energy company.
SEE_2025_4642_Föhren_BESS (20 MW)
20 MW reported in the trade press.
Deutsche Telekom
20 MW at 4 sites. Ultimate owner: Deutsche Telekom AG.
PASM Großspeicher Hannover (9.4 MW), PASM Großspeicher Bamberg I (Intillion) (5.4 MW), PASM Großspeicher Münster (4 MW), PASM Großspeicher München (Pixii) (1 MW)
20 MW from the owner’s publication.
Trianel (TEP)
18 MW at 2 sites. Ultimate owner: Trianel Energieprojekte GmbH & Co. KG, Aachen, the project company of Trianel GmbH, which municipal utilities own; its own partners were not checked.
BESS Groß Laasch (13 MW), Speicher Göhlsdorf 04/21 (4.9 MW)
18 MW inferred.
SWW Wunsiedel
18 MW at 2 sites. Ultimate owner: WUN H2 GmbH, a hydrogen company at the town utility's address; its shareholders were not checked.
Batteriespeicher Am Energiepark (9.2 MW), Wunsiedel Holenbrunn Ost PV-Park (8.9 MW)
18 MW inferred.
swb
18 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: swb, through its generation division.
Hybridregelkraftwerk (18 MW)
18 MW reported in the trade press.
Schaper Group
18 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Schaper Group.
Schaper Grid Energy Storage Herford (18 MW)
18 MW reported in the trade press.
Statkraft
18 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Statkraft (Norwegian energy company).
Solar Zerbst Batterie (18 MW)
18 MW reported in the trade press.
KGAL
17 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: KGAL (asset manager, Grünwald) via its fund ESPF 5.
BESS Grevesmühlen (17 MW)
17 MW inferred.
Field
16 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Field.
Field Waldkappel (16 MW)
16 MW reported in the trade press.
Hamburger Energiewerke with WEMAG (mea)
16 MW at 2 sites. Ultimate owner: Hamburger Energiewerke GmbH, Hamburg 74.9 % and mea Energieagentur Mecklenburg-Vorpommern GmbH (WEMAG group) 25.1 %, by liability amount.
WBS-Tarzow (10 MW), WBS-Pinnow (6 MW)
10 MW confirmed in the commercial register and 6 MW inferred.
Thüga / eins energie in sachsen
16 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Thüga Erneuerbare Energien and eins energie in sachsen.
Batteriespeicher Chemnitz GmbH & Co. KG (16 MW)
16 MW reported in the trade press.
BMW Group
15 MW at 2 sites. Ultimate owner: BMW AG.
Partition batteries, Leipzig (14 MW), BMW Batteriespeicher München Knorrstrasse FIZ (1.8 MW)
15 MW from the owner’s publication.
E.ON (LEW)
15 MW at 2 sites. Ultimate owner: E.ON SE (holds 89.87% of Lechwerke AG indirectly, same report).
Batteriespeicher Gersthofen (20 MW), Batteriespeicher UW Meitingen (7.6 MW)
15 MW from the owner’s publication.
E.ON (Avacon)
15 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: E.ON group (over 80 municipalities and districts hold 38.5% of Avacon).
Batteriespeicher Prinzhöfte (15 MW)
15 MW reported in the trade press.
WEMAG
15 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: WEMAG AG, Schwerin (Amtsgericht Schwerin HRB 615).
Groß-Batteriespeicher Schwerin-Lankow (15 MW)
15 MW confirmed in the commercial register.
Lechwerke (LEW)
14 MW at 2 sites. Ultimate owner: Lechwerke AG (LEW), Augsburg.
Batteriespeicher Gersthofen (20 MW), Rain BS1 (1.5 MW)
14 MW from the owner’s publication.
ENGIE
12 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: ENGIE group.
Batteriespeicher (12 MW)
12 MW from the owner’s publication.
Blue Elephant Energy
12 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Blue Elephant Energy.
BEE Merseburg GmbH (12 MW)
12 MW reported in the trade press.
EWE (be.storaged)
12 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: EWE AG.
Energiewende-Speicher (12 MW)
12 MW from the owner’s publication.
Capital Dynamics with Münch Energie
12 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Capital Dynamics Clean Energy funds 80 % (CE EU Lux Holdco S.à r.l.), Münch Energie 20 % (Münch Kraftwerke II GmbH & Co. KG).
BESS Merseburg and Speicher Braunsbedra (12 MW)
12 MW confirmed in the commercial register.
Nordic Solar
11 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Nordic Solar.
Tiste BESS (11 MW)
11 MW reported in the trade press.
CCE
11 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: CCE Holding; co-founded 2021 with Ärzteversorgung Thüringen; Omnes took a stake end 2022.
BESS Halle (Saale) (11 MW)
11 MW from the owner’s publication.
Wirth-Gruppe (W Power)
10 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Wirth-Gruppe (Waghäusel).
PES Ohrdruf (10 MW)
10 MW reported in the trade press.
Energiequelle / Enercon
10 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Energiequelle, Enercon and partners.
RRKW Feldheim (10 MW)
10 MW reported in the trade press.
Icecreek Energy
9.6 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Icecreek Energy (Alsdorf and Vordorf financed by Triodos Energy Transition Europe Fund, per CMS 7 Oct 2025).
Icecreek Energy Alsdorf (9.6 MW)
9.6 MW reported in the trade press.
Stadt Ludwigshafen (TWL)
9 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: City of Ludwigshafen am Rhein.
Batteriespeicher (9 MW)
9 MW from the owner’s publication.
Stadtwerke Feuchtwangen
8.6 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Stadtwerke Feuchtwangen with the town of Feuchtwangen (shareholding not stated).
Speicher Umspannwerk (8.6 MW)
8.6 MW reported in the trade press.
Stadtwerke Bielefeld
7.5 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Stadtwerke Bielefeld (shareholders not stated on source).
Batterie HKW Bi Hybrid (7.5 MW)
7.5 MW reported in the trade press.
VWEW-energie (Kaufbeuren)
7.3 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Municipalities led by the City of Kaufbeuren (as of Dec 2018).
Leinau Batteriespeicher (7.3 MW)
7.3 MW reported in the trade press.
EEW Energy from Waste
7 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: EEW Energy from Waste group (group owner not stated on source).
Batteriespeicher Premnitz (7 MW)
7 MW from the owner’s publication.
Stadt Dinslaken
7.0 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: City of Dinslaken.
Batteriespeicher am DHE Dinslaken (7.0 MW)
7.0 MW reported in the trade press.
RheinEnergie (Stadtwerke Köln)
6.9 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Stadtwerke Köln group (municipal; RheinEnergie called a 'kommunale Unternehmen' by ZfK, 24 Jul 2023).
Solarpark Lärz-Rechlin (Speicher) (6.9 MW)
6.9 MW reported in the trade press.
CTP
6.8 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: CTP.
BESS Wuppertal Mettmannerstr. (6.8 MW)
6.8 MW from the owner’s publication.
Dr. Oetker
6.8 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Dr. August Oetker KG (privately held).
Batteriespeicher 1 Mettingen (6.8 MW)
6.8 MW reported in the trade press.
Gemeinde Fuchstal
5.8 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Municipality of Fuchstal (the operator is the municipality itself).
Batteriespeicher Energiezukunft Fuchstal (5.8 MW)
5.8 MW reported in the trade press.
Volkswagen (Everllence)
5.8 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Volkswagen AG, with Bain Capital to hold 51% once the sale closes.
Batteriespeicher (5.8 MW)
5.8 MW reported in the trade press.
LHI
5.2 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: LHI Gruppe.
Speicher Gammertingen 04/21 (5.2 MW)
5.2 MW reported in the trade press.
APEX Group (exceet)
5.1 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: exceet Group SCA (listed).
APEX 4-MWh-Batteriespeicher SMA (5.1 MW)
5.1 MW from the owner’s publication.
Upside Group
5 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Upside Group (owners not stated).
Neuhardenberg (5 MW)
5 MW reported in the trade press.
Renoc / LION Smart / Stadtwerke Finsterwalde
5 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Not published (LION Smart is part of listed LION E-Mobility AG).
Speicher UG Glashütte (5 MW)
5 MW from the owner’s publication.
Porsche
5 MW at 1 site. Ultimate owner: Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG.
stationärer Batteriespeicher Porsche Leipzig GmbH BT267 (5 MW)
5 MW from the owner’s publication.
Megawatts are the register’s net power of the operating units each family’s companies run. A site run by companies of two families appears under both. Sources: Marktstammdatenregister, Bundesnetzagentur, Datenlizenz Deutschland, Namensnennung 2.0: the full export of 15 October 2026 and the public unit table of 15 October 2026. Owners from the commercial register, read 11 October 2026, and from the owners’ publications and the trade press, read from 16 October 2026, each linked on the battery’s page.