Vitreous LabsEnergy transparency
Germany · who trades the batteries

Published sources name who trades 18 of Germany’s largest batteries, 1,187 MW in all.

Britain’s balancing register names the company that sells each battery’s power. Germany has no such register, so every pairing below rests on an announcement by the owner, the optimiser or the trade press, linked beside it. We searched for the 45 largest operating sites, 2,179 MW; for the rest, nothing is published that we have found.

Entrix

BESS Arzberg, 101 MW. Entrix commercialises 50 MW / 100 MWh, half the plant; MW Storage has not said who markets the other half; toll or merchant not disclosed. Energy-Storage.News 17 March 2025

Batteriepark Metelen, 92 MW. Entrix optimises and markets the battery across all relevant markets; fully merchant. MEAG / Entrix press release (pv magazine company news) 3 June 2025

BESS Wetzen, 56 MW. Entrix, full-stack optimisation (FCR, aFRR, day-ahead, wholesale); term not stated. Energy-Storage.News 20 November 2024

BESS Strübbel, 50 MW. Entrix, full-stack optimisation including FCR, aFRR, day-ahead and wholesale trading; term not stated. Energy-Storage.News 20 November 2024

Batteriespeicher-Park Worms, 30 MW. Entrix, optimisation and marketing partner. ESS News 25 June 2025

enspired

ECO POWER ONE, 104 MW. enspired optimises ECO POWER ONE in wholesale and ancillary markets (page still describes ECO STOR as owner); not confirmed after the Alpiq sale. enspired case study 10 September 2026

Großbatteriespeicher Alfeld, 99 MW. enspired handles cross-market optimisation; Entelios aggregates and trades flexibility (with Tangermünde and Karstädt). enspired press release 19 December 2024

Speicher Karstädt, 21 MW. enspired (cross-market optimisation) with Entelios (flexibility aggregation and trading). enspired press release 19 December 2024

SEE_2025_4642_Föhren_BESS, 20 MW. enspired, cross-market optimisation since October 2025. enspired case study 2 September 2026

RWE, trading its own batteries

Batteriespeicher Westfalen 1, 140 MW. Self-marketed: RWE deploys the battery in several energy markets itself. RWE press release 14 February 2025

Batteriespeicher Neurath, 80 MW. Self-marketed: RWE deploys the battery in several energy markets itself. RWE press release 14 February 2025

Suena Energy

BESS Leuna, 185 MW. Suena Energy markets three assets in the Münch cluster (about 300 MWh); the three assets are not named. ESS News 25 March 2026, pv magazine Deutschland 24 March 2026

An unnamed energy company, under a toll

Stendal BESS, 104 MW. Toll counterparty (unnamed major global energy corporation) holds the battery flexibility under the 7-year agreement. Clifford Chance (Nofar adviser) news 6 March 2025

VERBUND, trading its own batteries

Batterie Iphofen, 21 MW. Self-marketed by VERBUND on intraday and balancing markets (marketer not separately named). VERBUND press release 1 February 2023

Batterie Diespeck, 21 MW. Self-marketed by VERBUND on intraday and balancing markets (marketer not separately named). VERBUND press release 1 February 2023

RheinEnergie Trading

BESS-Einbeck, 24 MW. RheinEnergie Trading, RheinEnergie trading subsidiary. SMA press release 14 July 2026

Next Kraftwerke

SMAREG12 Vöhringen I, 20 MW. Next Kraftwerke GmbH (toll counterparty for the tolled share). Osborne Clarke (SMAREG 12 adviser) news 3 December 2025

An unnamed marketing partner

Schaper Grid Energy Storage Herford, 18 MW. Unnamed marketing partner for primary and secondary control reserve and energy trading. WAGO customer case study

Megawatts are the register’s. An announcement can be old: a contract may have ended or changed hands since, and the date of each source is given so that a reader can judge. Sources: Marktstammdatenregister, Bundesnetzagentur, Datenlizenz Deutschland, Namensnennung 2.0: the full export of 15 October 2026 and the public unit table of 15 October 2026.