Sweden · owners
Who owns Sweden’s named batteries
41 owners named across the 88 batteries, as the owners themselves state it. Where two companies own a battery together both are named; where a fund or a parent stands behind the owner it is noted. No Swedish register publishes who owns a battery, so this is the owners’ own word and nothing more.
| Owner | Operating, MW | Being built, MW | Announced or no word since, MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| BW ESS and Ingrid Capacity | 194 | · | · |
| Ellevio Energy Solutions | 160 | · | · |
| Neoen | 146 | · | · |
| Vattenfall | 98 | · | · |
| Ånge Storage Solutions AB | 70 | · | · |
| Flower | 58 | · | 40 |
| Ingrid Capacity and Locus Energy | 56 | · | · |
| Centrica | 40 | · | · |
| Axpo | 20 | · | 25 |
| Polar Capacity and Stockholm Exergi | 20 | · | · |
| Varberg Energi | 11 | · | · |
| Jönköping Energi | 10 | · | · |
| Primrock | 5.4 | · | · |
| Fortum | 5 | · | · |
| Hydro | 4.5 | · | · |
| Mölndal Energi | 4 | · | · |
| Owner not stated | 2.8 | · | · |
| Skellefteå Kraft | 2.5 | · | · |
| E.ON | 1 | · | · |
| Jämtkraft | 1 | · | · |
| Ingrid Capacity | · | · | 273 |
| SENS | · | · | 100 |
| OX2 | · | · | 95 |
| Volvo Group | · | · | 70 |
| Polar Structure | · | · | 50 |
| Nuvve | · | · | 50 |
| ib vogt | · | · | 40 |
| Mälarenergi | · | 30 | · |
| Öresundskraft | · | · | 20 |
| RES and SCR | · | · | 20 |
| Rabbalshede Kraft | · | · | 20 |
| Vasa Vind | · | · | 20 |
| Ilmatar | · | · | 20 |
| Tekniska verken | · | · | 4 |
| Monsson Energy AB | · | · | · |
| Hylte Paper | · | · | · |
| CA Batteribalans | · | · | · |
| Falu Energi & Vatten | · | · | · |
| Nordic Solar | · | · | · |
| Nybro Energi | · | · | · |
| Uniper | · | · | · |
BW ESS and Ingrid Capacity
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eskilstuna (BW ESS and Ingrid) | Operating | Eskilstuna | 20 | · | 10 October 2024 |
| Varberg (BW ESS and Ingrid) | Operating | Varberg | 20 | 20 | 10 October 2024 |
| Vimmerby (BW ESS and Ingrid) | Operating | Vimmerby | 20 | · | 10 October 2024 |
| Katrineholm (BW ESS and Ingrid) | Operating | Katrineholm | 20 | · | 10 October 2024 |
| Sandviken (BW ESS and Ingrid) | Operating | Sandviken | 20 | · | 10 October 2024 |
| Värnamo (BW ESS and Ingrid) | Operating | Värnamo | 20 | · | 10 October 2024 |
| Falköping (BW ESS and Ingrid) | Operating | Falköping | 16 | · | 10 October 2024 |
| Karlskrona (BW ESS and Ingrid) | Operating | Karlskrona | 16 | · | 10 October 2024 |
| Gävle (BW ESS and Ingrid) | Operating | Gävle | 12 | · | 10 October 2024 |
| Vaggeryd (BW ESS and Ingrid) | Operating | Vaggeryd | 11 | · | 10 October 2024 |
| Västerås (BW ESS and Ingrid) | Operating | Västerås | 11 | · | 10 October 2024 |
| Mjölby (BW ESS and Ingrid) | Operating | Mjölby | 8 | · | 10 October 2024 |
| Falkenberg (BW ESS and Ingrid) | Operating | Falkenberg | · | · | 10 October 2024 |
| Sala (BW ESS and Ingrid) | Operating | Sala | · | · | 10 October 2024 |
Ellevio Energy Solutions
Behind it, as the sources state it: Ellevio.
Neoen
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Isbillen Power Reserve | Operating | Sollefteå | 94 | 94 | 2025 |
| Storen Power Reserve | Operating | Ragunda | 52 | 52 | 17 June 2024 |
Vattenfall
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bruzaholm (beside the wind farm) | Operating | Eksjö | 38 | 38 | December 2025 |
| Hjuleberg (beside the wind farm) | Operating | Falkenberg | 30 | 35 | 2024 |
| Höge väg (beside the wind farm) | Operating | Kristianstad | 25 | 29 | 2025 |
| Uppsala (Vattenfall) | Operating | Uppsala | 5 | 20 | 2020 |
Ånge Storage Solutions AB
Behind it, as the sources state it: WOOD & Company Renewables Sub-Fund and Delta Capacity.
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ånge BESS | Operating | Ånge | 70 | 160 | 23 June 2026 |
Flower
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bredhälla | Operating | Uppvidinge | 42 | · | August 2024 |
| Pajkölen | No word since its date | · | 40 | 80 | 2025 |
| Kungälv (Flower) | Operating | Kungälv | 15 | · | 21 August 2024 |
Ingrid Capacity and Locus Energy
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Göteborg (Ingrid and Locus) | Operating | Göteborg | 24 | · | 2025 |
| Lerum (Ingrid and Locus) | Operating | Lerum | 20 | 20 | 2025 |
| Rättvik (Ingrid and Locus) | Operating | Rättvik | 12 | 12 | 24 September 2025 |
| Falköping (Ingrid and Locus) | Operating | Falköping | · | · | · |
| Tuve (Ingrid and Locus) | Being built | Göteborg | · | · | 2026 |
| Lidköping (Ingrid and Locus) | Being built | Lidköping | · | · | 2026 |
| Götene (Ingrid and Locus) | Being built | Götene | · | · | 2026 |
Centrica
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Romme | Operating | Borlänge | 20 | 20 | April 2026 |
| Bullerforsen | Operating | · | 20 | 20 | April 2026 |
Axpo
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Filipstad (Axpo) | No word since its date | Filipstad | 25 | · | 2024 |
| Elektra, Landskrona | Operating | Landskrona | 20 | 20 | 12 February 2024 |
Polar Capacity and Stockholm Exergi
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Haninge (Polar Capacity) | Operating | Haninge | 20 | · | October 2023 |
Varberg Energi
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tvååker | Operating | Varberg | 11 | · | · |
Jönköping Energi
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Torsvik, Jönköping | Operating | Jönköping | 10 | 10 | 23 May 2025 |
Primrock
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Falkenberg (Primrock) | Operating | Falkenberg | 5.4 | · | · |
Fortum
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Forshuvud (beside the hydro plant) | Operating | Borlänge | 5 | 6.2 | 2019 |
| Landaforsen (beside the hydro plant) | Operating | · | · | · | · |
Hydro
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vetlanda (Hydro) | Operating | Vetlanda | 4.5 | · | · |
Mölndal Energi
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Riskulla, Mölndal | Operating | Mölndal | 4 | 4.4 | January 2026 |
Owner not stated
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Humlestaden, Göteborg (reused car batteries) | Operating | Göteborg | 2.8 | 2.6 | July 2023 |
| Hallstahammar hydropower station battery | Operating | Hallstahammar | · | 8 | · |
| Grycksbo paper mill battery | No word since its date | Falun | · | · | 2025 |
| Munkedal paper mill battery | No word since its date | Munkedal | · | · | 2025 |
Skellefteå Kraft
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Båtfors (beside the hydro plant) | Operating | · | 2.5 | 4.4 | November 2024 |
E.ON
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| E.ON Malmö battery | Operating | Malmö | 1 | 1 | · |
Jämtkraft
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Granboforsen (beside the hydro plant) | Operating | · | 1 | 1 | 2021 |
| Hissmofors (beside the hydro plant) | No word since its date | Krokom | · | 15 | 2024 |
Ingrid Capacity
Behind it, as the sources state it: Mirova (equity investor).
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Horsaryd | Announced | Karlshamn | 100 | 200 | 2028 |
| Vaggeryd (Ingrid, 100 MW) | Announced | Vaggeryd | 100 | 400 | 2028 |
| Karlshamn, Duveryd (70 MW) | No word since its date | Karlshamn | 70 | · | 2024 |
| Karlshamn pilot (reused bus batteries) | No word since its date | Karlshamn | 3 | · | 2023 |
SENS
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hallsberg (SENS) | Announced | Hallsberg | 50 | · | · |
| Katrineholm (SENS) | Announced | Katrineholm | 50 | · | · |
| Motala (SENS) | Announced | Motala | · | · | · |
OX2
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fageråsen (beside the wind farm) | Announced | Malung-Sälen | 50 | 209 | 2027 |
| Näsbyholm | Announced | Skurup | 45 | · | · |
Volvo Group
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Volvo Mariestad energy park | Announced | Mariestad | 70 | 260 | 2027 |
Polar Structure
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boden (Polar Structure) | No word since its date | Boden | 50 | 100 | 2024 |
Nuvve
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nuvve and OMNIA first battery | Announced | · | 50 | 75 | 2026 |
ib vogt
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Emmaboda Energipark | Announced | Emmaboda | 40 | · | 2028 |
Mälarenergi
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mälarenergi battery park at the Västerås power station | Being built | Västerås | 30 | 60 | 2026 |
Öresundskraft
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Åkerslundsverket, Ängelholm | No word since its date | Ängelholm | 20 | · | 2024 |
RES and SCR
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alingsås (RES and SCR) | No word since its date | Alingsås | 20 | · | 2024 |
Rabbalshede Kraft
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Femstenaberg (beside the wind farm) | No word since its date | Strömstad | 20 | 20 | 2025 |
Vasa Vind
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vasa Vind wind farm battery, Strömsund | No word since its date | Strömsund | 20 | 20 | 2024 |
Ilmatar
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Knihult (beside the solar farm) | No word since its date | · | 20 | · | 2025 |
Tekniska verken
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tekniska verken, Mjölby truck charging park | No word since its date | Mjölby | 4 | 4 | 2024 |
Monsson Energy AB
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eskilstuna (Monsson) | No word since its date | Eskilstuna | · | 60 | · |
| Härryda (Monsson) | Announced | Härryda | · | 20 | · |
Hylte Paper
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hylte Paper battery park | Operating | Hylte | · | 42 | December 2024 |
CA Batteribalans
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CA Batteribalans, Lerum | No word since its date | Lerum | · | 28 | April 2025 |
Falu Energi & Vatten
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Falu Energi & Vatten, Falun | Operating | Falun | · | 12 | December 2024 |
Nordic Solar
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nordic Solar, Södertälje | Being built | Södertälje | · | 18 | · |
Nybro Energi
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nybro Energi | No word since its date | Nybro | · | 12 | · |
Uniper
| Battery | Status | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Edsele (beside the hydro plant) | Operating | Sollefteå | · | · | 2021 |
| Lövön (beside the hydro plant) | Operating | · | · | · | 2021 |
| Bodum (beside the hydro plant) | Operating | · | · | · | 2022 |
| Fjällsjö (beside the hydro plant) | Operating | · | · | · | 2022 |
Source: se/hand/batteries.csv, the owner and parent columns, each with its web address on the battery’s page.