Belgium · owners
Who owns Belgium’s batteries
25 owners across the 35 named batteries, as the owners themselves state it. Elia’s list names the battery and not its owner, so the owner on this page is always the owner’s own word or the trade press’s, with the source on the battery’s page.
| Owner | Scheduled or running, MW | Being built, MW | Announced or unconfirmed, MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| ENGIE (Electrabel) | 200 | 254 | 100 |
| Luminus (EDF group) with I4B | 150 | 0 | 0 |
| BSTOR (75%), SOCOFE (15%), SOPAER (10%) | 100 | 0 | 0 |
| Energy Solutions Group | 75 | 76 | 0 |
| Corsica Sole | 50 | 0 | 0 |
| Eneco | 50 | 0 | 0 |
| BSTOR and Duferco Wallonie (50% each) | 50 | 0 | 0 |
| TotalEnergies | 25 | 0 | 25 |
| Nippon Koei Energy Europe and Aquila Clean Energy | 25 | 0 | 0 |
| Nala Renewables | 25 | 0 | 0 |
| Aspiravi | 25 | 0 | 0 |
| Centrica | 18 | 0 | 0 |
| EStor-Lux consortium (SRIW, Ackermans & van Haaren, BEWATT, SOCOFE, SOFILUX) | 10 | 0 | 0 |
| Katoen Natie | 10 | 0 | 0 |
| EcoSourcen | 10 | 0 | 0 |
| Owner not stated | 7 | 0 | 0 |
| GIGA Storage | 0 | 700 | 300 |
| Storm | 0 | 300 | 100 |
| Aukera Energy and Weerts Group | 0 | 170 | 0 |
| Nippon Koei Energy Europe (51%), Aspiravi (24.5%), Ecopower (19.6%), Beauvent (4.9%) | 0 | 100 | 0 |
| Luminus (EDF group) | 0 | 0 | 100 |
| HybriX Energy | 0 | 70 | 0 |
| Gramme Storage 1 | 0 | 50 | 0 |
| Centrica Business Solutions | 0 | 0 | 24 |
| Etherr.a | 0 | 0 | 0 |
ENGIE (Electrabel)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ENGIE Vilvoorde | Operating | ENGIE (Electrabel) | Vilvoorde | 200 | 800 | 14 Nov 2025 |
| ENGIE Kallo | Being built | ENGIE (Electrabel) | Beveren | 100 | 400 | 2027 |
| ENGIE Vilvoorde phase 3 | Announced | ENGIE (Electrabel) | Vilvoorde | 100 | 400 | · |
| ENGIE Drogenbos | Being built | ENGIE (Electrabel) | Drogenbos | 80 | 320 | 2027 |
| ENGIE Coo | Being built | ENGIE (Electrabel) | Stoumont | 74 | 296 | 2028 |
Luminus (EDF group) with I4B
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Navagne (Luminus Storage Visé) | Operating | Luminus (EDF group) with I4B | Visé | 150 | 600 | 1 Sep 2026 |
BSTOR (75%), SOCOFE (15%), SOPAER (10%)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EStor-Lux II Aubange | Energised, commissioning | BSTOR (75%), SOCOFE (15%), SOPAER (10%) | Aubange | 100 | 270 | Oct 2026 |
Energy Solutions Group
Patronale Life (majority), as the sources state it.
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auvelais Energy Storage | Being built | Energy Solutions Group | Sambreville | 76 | 304 | 2027 |
| Harmignies Energy Storage | In Elia’s schedule, start not announced | Energy Solutions Group | Mons | 75 | 300 | 2025 |
Corsica Sole
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Deux-Acren Energy Storage | Operating | Corsica Sole | Lessines | 50 | 100 | Dec 2022 |
Eneco
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eneco Ville-sur-Haine | Operating | Eneco | Le Roeulx | 50 | 200 | Oct 2024 |
BSTOR and Duferco Wallonie (50% each)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| D-STOR La Louvière | Operating | BSTOR and Duferco Wallonie (50% each) | La Louvière | 50 | 140 | Mar 2026 |
TotalEnergies
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TotalEnergies Antwerp refinery battery | In Elia’s schedule, start not announced | TotalEnergies | Antwerp | 25 | 75 | 2024 |
| TotalEnergies Feluy | Start not confirmed | TotalEnergies | Seneffe | 25 | 75 | 2025 |
Nippon Koei Energy Europe and Aquila Clean Energy
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ruien Energy Storage | Operating | Nippon Koei Energy Europe and Aquila Clean Energy | Kluisbergen | 25 | 100 | 7 Mar 2023 |
Nala Renewables
Trafigura and IFM Investors (joint venture), as the sources state it.
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nyrstar Balen | In Elia’s schedule, start not announced | Nala Renewables | Balen | 25 | 100 | 2022 |
Aspiravi
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brecht E19 | Operating | Aspiravi | Brecht | 25 | 100 | Mar 2026 |
Centrica
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Terhills | Operating | Centrica | Dilsen-Stokkem | 18 | · | Apr 2018 |
EStor-Lux consortium (SRIW, Ackermans & van Haaren, BEWATT, SOCOFE, SOFILUX)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EStor-Lux I | Operating | EStor-Lux consortium (SRIW, Ackermans & van Haaren, BEWATT, SOCOFE, SOFILUX) | Bastogne | 10 | 20 | Dec 2021 |
Katoen Natie
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Katoen Natie Kallo | In Elia’s schedule, start not announced | Katoen Natie | Beveren | 10 | · | · |
EcoSourcen
financed by Patronale Life, as the sources state it.
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EcoSourcen Deinze | Operating | EcoSourcen | Deinze | 10 | 55 | Apr 2026 |
Owner not stated
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Drogenbos Batteries (Elia’s name) | In Elia’s schedule, start not announced | · | Drogenbos | 7 | · | · |
GIGA Storage
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Green Turtle | Being built | GIGA Storage | Dilsen-Stokkem | 700 | 2,800 | Mar 2028 |
| Blue Marlin | Announced | GIGA Storage | Kinrooi | 300 | 1,200 | 2030 |
Storm
with TINC, PMV and I4B, as the sources state it.
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Storm Ruien | Being built | Storm | Kluisbergen | 200 | 800 | 2027 |
| Storm Langerlo | Being built | Storm | Genk | 100 | 400 | 2027 |
| Storm Zeebrugge | Announced | Storm | Bruges | 100 | 400 | · |
Aukera Energy and Weerts Group
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Project Volt (Garocentre) | Being built | Aukera Energy and Weerts Group | La Louvière | 170 | 340 | 2027 |
Nippon Koei Energy Europe (51%), Aspiravi (24.5%), Ecopower (19.6%), Beauvent (4.9%)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ruien II | Being built | Nippon Koei Energy Europe (51%), Aspiravi (24.5%), Ecopower (19.6%), Beauvent (4.9%) | Kluisbergen | 100 | 250 | 2027 |
Luminus (EDF group)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Luminus Ghent Ringvaart | Announced | Luminus (EDF group) | Ghent | 100 | 400 | 2026 |
HybriX Energy
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HybriX Volta | Being built | HybriX Energy | Geel | 35 | 150 | 2027 |
| HybriX Franklin | Being built | HybriX Energy | Zandhoven | 35 | 150 | 2027 |
Gramme Storage 1
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gramme Storage 1 | Being built | Gramme Storage 1 | Huy | 50 | 100 | 2027 |
Centrica Business Solutions
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Centrica Ostend | Start not confirmed | Centrica Business Solutions | Ostend | 24 | 54 | 2024 |
Etherr.a
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Owner’s date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hanzinelle | Announced | Etherr.a | Florennes | · | 48 | · |
Source: be/hand/batteries.csv, the owner column, each with its web address on the battery’s page.