The Netherlands publishes no list of its large batteries. Their owners name 31 running, 569 MW, and 892 MW being built.
The owners’, builders’ and grid operators’ releases and the permit notices read to 20 October 2026. Statistics Netherlands’ table as reported on 10 October 2026. Rebuilt on every refresh.
The Netherlands publishes no list of the batteries on its grid. ENTSO-E holds no Dutch storage unit and no Dutch storage output. The grid operators’ register of installations covers batteries of up to 1 MW only, and the register of larger ones they are preparing is not public. Statistics Netherlands counts the batteries of 1 MWh and more once a year and names none of them. So every battery on this page is one its owner, developer or builder has named, in a release, a permit notice or the trade press, with the source beside every fact.
Owners name 40% of the megawatts Statistics Netherlands counted at the end of 2025, and 10 of its 256 small batteries
Statistics Netherlands counts every battery of 1 MWh and more each year, from Energy Storage NL, TenneT and other sources, and publishes the totals by size without a single name. Of the 30 batteries it counts above 10 MWh, owners have named 14 as running by then; of the 256 between 1 and 10 MWh, 10. The small ones are the gap: they sit at farms, glasshouses, depots and factories, and their owners rarely announce them.
Statistics Netherlands, table 85929NED, “Grote batterijen voor opslag van elektriciteit”, end of 2025, provisional, as reported on 10 October 2026; batteries of 1 MWh and more, counted as systems at a separate site. The named batteries are those an owner, builder or the trade press dates as running before 2026, sized by the owner’s figure and classed by the capacity the source gives. A battery whose capacity no source gives is classed as small.
892 MW is being built, and most of it is due in 2027
The named batteries by the year their owners give for the start. The running ones are dated by when they started; the ones being built by when their owners expect them. Return’s Mufasa at Vlissingen and GIGA Storage’s Leopard at Delfzijl, 650 MW between them, are both due in 2027. An owner’s expected year is the owner’s word and has slipped before: Mufasa was first due in 2026.
The named batteries running or being built, by the year their owner or builder gives, in MW as the owner states it. Batteries with an investment decision, a permit or an announcement only, 2,644 MW, are left out.
Where the named batteries are
One circle per named battery, sized by power. Yellow runs; blue is being built; pale blue is decided, permitted or announced; grey is built or due with no source saying it runs.
58 of 64 batteries placed: 24 at the site itself, the rest at the place their source names or the centre of their municipality, from GeoNames.
Open the Atlas, every battery on the map Every battery, one page each What changed, list by listEvery battery named as running
As the owner, developer or builder states it, or the trade press where they have not; the date is the stated start. Each battery’s page says how sure the source is and why.
| Battery | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Started |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Antares | Return | Waddinxveen | 100 | 200 | 5 Oct 2026 |
| Amethyst | Dispatch Grid Services | Dordrecht | 45 | 90 | 9 Jun 2026 |
| Engie batterijpark Maxima | ENGIE | Lelystad | 35 | 100 | 30 Jun 2026 |
| RWE Eemshaven battery | RWE | Eemshaven | 35 | 41 | 13 Mar 2025 |
| Batterij Groen (Dronter Energie Opslag) | Pure Energie | Dronten | 32 | 65 | 2 Sep 2026 |
| FlevoBESS (Dronter Energie Opslag) | Flevo-BESS B.V. (XY Wind, Ansjovisstroom, Flevo Ventum; 400+ local shareholders) | Dronten | 32 | 126 | Dec 2025 |
| Batterij Park Zeewolde (BPZ, phase 1) | Local residents through Windpark Zeewolde / De Nieuwe Molenaars (200+ farmers, residents, businesses) | Zeewolde | 31 | 65 | 24 Oct 2025 |
| Castor | Return (formerly SemperPower) | Vlissingen | 31 | 63 | Nov 2023 |
| Pollux | Return (formerly SemperPower) | Vlissingen | 30 | 68 | 20 Dec 2023 |
| GIGA Buffalo | GIGA Storage | Lelystad | 24 | 48 | Oct 2022 |
| Greenchoice Hartel 2 battery | Greenchoice (financed by Triodos; ownership not stated explicitly) | Rotterdam | 20 | 40 | Mar 2025 |
| EOS Volans (phase 1) | E-Connection | Neeltje Jans | 20 | 40 | May 2026 |
| Energyhub Branderwal | Energeion | Kootwijkerbroek | 20 | 80 | 17 Jul 2026 |
| BESS Apeldoorn (Bloemenkamp) | Encavis | Apeldoorn | 15 | 30 | Apr 2026 |
| GIGA Rhino | GIGA Storage | Lelystad | 12 | 7.5 | Nov 2020 |
| Bomhofsplas | Green Energy Storage | Zwolle | 11 | 22 | Oct 2025 |
| Star | Return (formerly SemperPower) | Terneuzen | 10 | 10 | Nov 2021 |
| GIGA Giraffe | GIGA Storage | Amsterdam | 10 | 47 | Oct 2025 |
| S4 Energy Rilland | S4 Energy (Castleton Commodities) | Rilland | 10 | 40 | Feb 2025 |
| S4 Energy hybrid at Windpark Luna, Heerhugowaard | (not stated) S4 Energy; wind park owned by Eneco | Heerhugowaard | 10 | 9 | 2022 |
| S4 Energy / Leclanche hybrid Almelo | (not stated) S4 Energy | Almelo | 8.8 | 7.12 | Dec 2021 |
| RWE Moerdijk inertia battery | RWE | Moerdijk | 7.5 | 11 | 2025 |
| iwell Mega Cubes at Lage Weide | iwell | Utrecht | 7 | 14 | 8 Mar 2023 |
| Zonnepark Bontepolder battery | Novar / Solarfields | Terneuzen | 5 | 5 | 2023 |
| Prinses Alexia wind park battery (BMW batteries) | Vattenfall | Zeewolde | 3 | · | Jun 2017 |
| Johan Cruijff ArenA battery | (not stated) Johan Cruijff ArenA with Nissan, Eaton, BAM and The Mobility House | Amsterdam | 3 | 2.8 | Jun 2018 |
| Oegema Transport distribution centre battery | Oegema Transport | Dedemsvaart | 1.5 | 3.23 | 2023 |
| Scheldebatterij | Emmett Green (developer; owner not stated) | · | 1 | 2.3 | 2025 |
| Energypark Haringvliet battery | Vattenfall | · | · | 12 | 22 Mar 2022 |
| PowerField Wanneperveen | PowerField | Wanneperveen | · | 52 | 2024 |
| Buys Glas battery | (not stated) host site Buys Glas | Stramproy | · | 2 | Oct 2025 |
Being built
| Battery | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Expected |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mufasa | Return (developed under the Lion Storage brand) | Vlissingen | 350 | 1,400 | 2027 |
| GIGA Leopard | GIGA Storage (InfraVia majority shareholder) | Delfzijl | 300 | 1,200 | 2027 |
| Sirius | Return | Winschoten | 200 | 800 | 2027 |
| GreenPowerBank Dronten (Dronter Energie Opslag) | Begro Energy Projects (GreenPowerBank Dronten B.V.) | Dronten | 32 | 126 | 2027 |
| GIGA Lion | GIGA Storage | Amsterdam | 10 | 43 | · |
| Batterij Groen expansion (phase 2) | Pure Energie | Dronten | · | 65 | 2026 |
Built or due, with no source saying they run
Batteries placed, moved or due to start whose running no source confirms. They are counted with neither the running nor the being built.
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Stated date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sellingen floating solar park battery | Built or due, running not confirmed | (not stated) GroenLeven is the developer | Sellingen | 15 | 30 | 2023 |
| Greenchoice battery relocated to Hellegatsplein | Built or due, running not confirmed | Greenchoice | Hellegatsplein wind park | 10 | 10 | 2018 |
| Windpark De Plaet battery | Built or due, running not confirmed | De Plaet B.V. | Ooltgensplaat | 10 | 20 | 2024 |
Decided, permitted or announced
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Expected |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Musselkanaal - Ter Apelkanaal | Permitted | S4 Energy (bought LC Energy, Oct 2024) | Westerwolde | 500 | 2,000 | 2027 |
| RWE Moerdijk battery 2 | Investment decided, not yet being built | RWE | Moerdijk | 400 | 1,100 | 2028 |
| SemperPower / Corre Energy battery | Announced | SemperPower (now Return) and Corre Energy | Zuidwending | 320 | 640 | · |
| Sequoia | Investment decided, not yet being built | Vopak (79%) / Green Energy Storage | Oosterhout | 200 | 800 | 2028 |
| Spica | Announced | Return | Meeden | 200 | 800 | · |
| Begro Eemshaven | Announced | Begro Energy Projects | Eemshaven | 200 | 800 | · |
| Begro Noordoostpolder (Westermeerdijk) | Announced | Begro Energy Projects | Noordoostpolder | 180 | 720 | 2025 |
| Holland Battery 1 (Eemshaven) | Permitted | Tomorrow Energy Storage Development BV | Eemshaven | 180 | 360 | · |
| Vopak Meeden battery | Announced | Vopak | near Meeden | 150 | · | 2028 |
| Enecogen battery (Rotterdam port) | Investment decided, not yet being built | Eneco and EP NL (50/50) | Rotterdam | 50 | 200 | 2027 |
| NOP Agrowind battery (NOP AgroBESS) | Investment decided, not yet being built | NOP Agrowind (not stated explicitly) | near Espel | 49 | 196 | 2026 |
| IX Zon Borculo | Announced | IX Zon (developer) | Borculo | 40 | 160 | 2027 |
| EOS Bellingwolde | Announced | Novar | Bellingwolde | 36 | 144 | · |
| Eleqtis battery, Zeewolde | Announced | Eleqtis B.V. (commissioning party) | Zeewolde | 35 | 144 | 2026 |
| Avermieden battery | Permitted | Novar | · | 22 | 91 | · |
| Elestor hydrogen-iron flow battery, Windpark Zeewolde | Announced | Elestor / Windpark Zeewolde | Zeewolde | 20 | · | · |
| Windpark Greenport Venlo battery | Investment decided, not yet being built | WGV-EOS (Greenchoice, ABN AMRO’s impact fund and Windunie) | Venlo | 15 | 60 | 2027 |
| Holland Battery 3 | Permitted | Tomorrow Energy | Leudal | 11 | 44 | · |
| Woldjerspoor solar park battery | Announced | GroenLeven | Groningen | 10 | 20 | · |
| Attero Tilburg | Investment decided, not yet being built | Attero | Tilburg | 9 | 18 | 2026 |
| Zeeland energy hub battery (unnamed) | Permitted | (not stated) | · | 8.78 | · | · |
| Strekdammen battery (Eemshaven) | Investment decided, not yet being built | a.s.r. Dutch Green Energy Fund I (majority); Rebel Development; Pronewable | Eemshaven | 7.5 | 24 | Feb 2027 |
| PowerField Valthermond-Emmen | Announced | PowerField | Valthermond | · | 12 | 2023 |
| A&M Batteries Botlek EOS | Permitted | A&M Batteries B.V. | Rotterdam | · | · | · |
The owners with the most running
Who builds them
Alfen is named on 12 of the 64 batteries. A battery with two firms named counts for each.
| Builder, integrator or supplier named | Batteries | MW |
|---|---|---|
| Alfen | 12 | 284 |
| Ventolines | 4 | 306 |
| Tesla | 3 | 370 |
| Fluence | 3 | 112 |
| Rolls-Royce | 3 | 97 |
| Green Energy Storage | 3 | 50 |
| Equans | 2 | 80 |
| Leclanche | 2 | 19 |
What is not here, and why
The batteries no owner has announced, which by Statistics Netherlands’ count is most of the small ones. A meter on any battery, because no Dutch battery reports its output to ENTSO-E and TenneT publishes none per unit. What TenneT pays for balancing and the bids it receives, which its data service publishes, because its terms forbid passing that data on without its permission, which we asked for on 19 October 2026. The connection queue, because TenneT gives it only as totals. The day-ahead price is on the European prices page. Nothing on this page is modelled, and a connection figure is never passed off as a battery’s size.
Sources: nl/hand/batteries.csv, kept by hand from owners’, developers’ and builders’ own releases, grid operators’, provincial and municipal notices and the trade press, every fact with its web address. Statistics Netherlands, table 85929NED. Places from GeoNames (CC BY 4.0) and OpenStreetMap (ODbL).