The Netherlands · the named batteries
S4 Energy / Leclanche hybrid Almelo
Operating, 8.8 MW · 7.12 MWh, in Almelo, owned by (not stated) S4 Energy. Every fact below is as a published source states it, with the address beside it; a field not shown is one no source gave, and nothing is guessed.
The battery
| Power | 8.8 MW |
| Capacity | 7.12 MWh |
| Duration | 0.8 hours |
| Status | Operating, as of 20 October 2026 |
| Stated date | December 2021, before December 2021 |
| Municipality | Almelo, Overijssel |
| Grid connection | TenneT frequency services |
| Placed on the map | at the centre of Almelo, its municipality (GeoNames) |
| How sure | Probable: the sources agree but none confirms every fact |
Who is behind it
| Owner | (not stated) S4 Energy |
| Traded by | S4 Energy |
| Built by | Leclanche (batteries); S4 Energy (KINEXT flywheels, six units, 3 MW) |
What the sources say
pv magazine (22 December 2021) describes this as the earlier, existing S4 Energy and Leclanche hybrid serving TenneT, with 8.8 MW / 7.12 MWh of batteries plus 3 MW of flywheels. No commissioning date was read and no recent source says it still runs. New in this round.
Evidence and sources
- source: pv-magazine.com/2021/12/22/another-big-battery-ready-to-join-du…
- source: leclanche.com/leclanche-completes-second-hybrid-energy-storag…
From the owners’, developers’ and builders’ own releases, grid operators’ and permit notices and the trade press, read by Vitreous. No Dutch body publishes a meter, an instruction or a payment for a named battery, so this page carries none. List id NL-B50.