The Netherlands · owners
Who owns the Netherlands’ named batteries
50 owners across the 64 named batteries, as the owners themselves or the trade press state it. No Dutch body publishes ownership, so this covers the named batteries only.
Return
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sirius | Being built | Return | Winschoten | 200 | 800 | 2027 |
| Spica | Announced | Return | Meeden | 200 | 800 | · |
| Antares | Operating | Return | Waddinxveen | 100 | 200 | 5 Oct 2026 |
Return (formerly SemperPower)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Castor | Operating | Return (formerly SemperPower) | Vlissingen | 31 | 63 | Nov 2023 |
| Pollux | Operating | Return (formerly SemperPower) | Vlissingen | 30 | 68 | 20 Dec 2023 |
| Star | Operating | Return (formerly SemperPower) | Terneuzen | 10 | 10 | Nov 2021 |
GIGA Storage
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GIGA Buffalo | Operating | GIGA Storage | Lelystad | 24 | 48 | Oct 2022 |
| GIGA Rhino | Operating | GIGA Storage | Lelystad | 12 | 7.5 | Nov 2020 |
| GIGA Giraffe | Operating | GIGA Storage | Amsterdam | 10 | 47 | Oct 2025 |
| GIGA Lion | Being built | GIGA Storage | Amsterdam | 10 | 43 | · |
Dispatch Grid Services
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amethyst | Energised, commissioning | Dispatch Grid Services | Dordrecht | 45 | 90 | 9 Jun 2026 |
RWE
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RWE Moerdijk battery 2 | Investment decided, not yet being built | RWE | Moerdijk | 400 | 1,100 | 2028 |
| RWE Eemshaven battery | Operating | RWE | Eemshaven | 35 | 41 | 13 Mar 2025 |
| RWE Moerdijk inertia battery | Operating | RWE | Moerdijk | 7.5 | 11 | 2025 |
ENGIE
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Engie batterijpark Maxima | Operating | ENGIE | Lelystad | 35 | 100 | 30 Jun 2026 |
Pure Energie
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Batterij Groen (Dronter Energie Opslag) | Operating | Pure Energie | Dronten | 32 | 65 | 2 Sep 2026 |
| Batterij Groen expansion (phase 2) | Being built | Pure Energie | Dronten | · | 65 | 2026 |
Flevo-BESS B.V. (XY Wind, Ansjovisstroom, Flevo Ventum; 400+ local shareholders)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FlevoBESS (Dronter Energie Opslag) | Operating | Flevo-BESS B.V. (XY Wind, Ansjovisstroom, Flevo Ventum; 400+ local shareholders) | Dronten | 32 | 126 | Dec 2025 |
Local residents through Windpark Zeewolde / De Nieuwe Molenaars (200+ farmers, residents, businesses)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Batterij Park Zeewolde (BPZ, phase 1) | Operating | Local residents through Windpark Zeewolde / De Nieuwe Molenaars (200+ farmers, residents, businesses) | Zeewolde | 31 | 65 | 24 Oct 2025 |
Greenchoice (financed by Triodos; ownership not stated explicitly)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Greenchoice Hartel 2 battery | Operating | Greenchoice (financed by Triodos; ownership not stated explicitly) | Rotterdam | 20 | 40 | Mar 2025 |
E-Connection
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EOS Volans (phase 1) | Operating | E-Connection | Neeltje Jans | 20 | 40 | May 2026 |
Energeion
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Energyhub Branderwal | Operating | Energeion | Kootwijkerbroek | 20 | 80 | 17 Jul 2026 |
Encavis
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BESS Apeldoorn (Bloemenkamp) | Operating | Encavis | Apeldoorn | 15 | 30 | Apr 2026 |
Green Energy Storage
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bomhofsplas | Operating | Green Energy Storage | Zwolle | 11 | 22 | Oct 2025 |
S4 Energy (Castleton Commodities)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| S4 Energy Rilland | Operating | S4 Energy (Castleton Commodities) | Rilland | 10 | 40 | Feb 2025 |
(not stated) S4 Energy; wind park owned by Eneco
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| S4 Energy hybrid at Windpark Luna, Heerhugowaard | Operating | (not stated) S4 Energy; wind park owned by Eneco | Heerhugowaard | 10 | 9 | 2022 |
(not stated) S4 Energy
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| S4 Energy / Leclanche hybrid Almelo | Operating | (not stated) S4 Energy | Almelo | 8.8 | 7.12 | Dec 2021 |
iwell
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| iwell Mega Cubes at Lage Weide | Operating | iwell | Utrecht | 7 | 14 | 8 Mar 2023 |
Novar / Solarfields
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zonnepark Bontepolder battery | Operating | Novar / Solarfields | Terneuzen | 5 | 5 | 2023 |
Vattenfall
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prinses Alexia wind park battery (BMW batteries) | Operating | Vattenfall | Zeewolde | 3 | · | Jun 2017 |
| Energypark Haringvliet battery | Operating | Vattenfall | · | · | 12 | 22 Mar 2022 |
(not stated) Johan Cruijff ArenA with Nissan, Eaton, BAM and The Mobility House
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Johan Cruijff ArenA battery | Operating | (not stated) Johan Cruijff ArenA with Nissan, Eaton, BAM and The Mobility House | Amsterdam | 3 | 2.8 | Jun 2018 |
Oegema Transport
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oegema Transport distribution centre battery | Operating | Oegema Transport | Dedemsvaart | 1.5 | 3.23 | 2023 |
Emmett Green (developer; owner not stated)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scheldebatterij | Operating | Emmett Green (developer; owner not stated) | · | 1 | 2.3 | 2025 |
S4 Energy (bought LC Energy, Oct 2024)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Musselkanaal - Ter Apelkanaal | Permitted | S4 Energy (bought LC Energy, Oct 2024) | Westerwolde | 500 | 2,000 | 2027 |
Begro Energy Projects
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Begro Eemshaven | Announced | Begro Energy Projects | Eemshaven | 200 | 800 | · |
| Begro Noordoostpolder (Westermeerdijk) | Announced | Begro Energy Projects | Noordoostpolder | 180 | 720 | 2025 |
Return (developed under the Lion Storage brand)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mufasa | Being built | Return (developed under the Lion Storage brand) | Vlissingen | 350 | 1,400 | 2027 |
SemperPower (now Return) and Corre Energy
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SemperPower / Corre Energy battery | Announced | SemperPower (now Return) and Corre Energy | Zuidwending | 320 | 640 | · |
GIGA Storage (InfraVia majority shareholder)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GIGA Leopard | Being built | GIGA Storage (InfraVia majority shareholder) | Delfzijl | 300 | 1,200 | 2027 |
Vopak (79%) / Green Energy Storage
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sequoia | Investment decided, not yet being built | Vopak (79%) / Green Energy Storage | Oosterhout | 200 | 800 | 2028 |
Tomorrow Energy Storage Development BV
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Holland Battery 1 (Eemshaven) | Permitted | Tomorrow Energy Storage Development BV | Eemshaven | 180 | 360 | · |
Vopak
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vopak Meeden battery | Announced | Vopak | near Meeden | 150 | · | 2028 |
Novar
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EOS Bellingwolde | Announced | Novar | Bellingwolde | 36 | 144 | · |
| Avermieden battery | Permitted | Novar | · | 22 | 91 | · |
Eneco and EP NL (50/50)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Enecogen battery (Rotterdam port) | Investment decided, not yet being built | Eneco and EP NL (50/50) | Rotterdam | 50 | 200 | 2027 |
NOP Agrowind (not stated explicitly)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NOP Agrowind battery (NOP AgroBESS) | Investment decided, not yet being built | NOP Agrowind (not stated explicitly) | near Espel | 49 | 196 | 2026 |
IX Zon (developer)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IX Zon Borculo | Announced | IX Zon (developer) | Borculo | 40 | 160 | 2027 |
Eleqtis B.V. (commissioning party)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eleqtis battery, Zeewolde | Announced | Eleqtis B.V. (commissioning party) | Zeewolde | 35 | 144 | 2026 |
Begro Energy Projects (GreenPowerBank Dronten B.V.)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GreenPowerBank Dronten (Dronter Energie Opslag) | Being built | Begro Energy Projects (GreenPowerBank Dronten B.V.) | Dronten | 32 | 126 | 2027 |
Elestor / Windpark Zeewolde
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elestor hydrogen-iron flow battery, Windpark Zeewolde | Announced | Elestor / Windpark Zeewolde | Zeewolde | 20 | · | · |
WGV-EOS (Greenchoice, ABN AMRO’s impact fund and Windunie)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Windpark Greenport Venlo battery | Investment decided, not yet being built | WGV-EOS (Greenchoice, ABN AMRO’s impact fund and Windunie) | Venlo | 15 | 60 | 2027 |
(not stated) GroenLeven is the developer
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sellingen floating solar park battery | Built or due, running not confirmed | (not stated) GroenLeven is the developer | Sellingen | 15 | 30 | 2023 |
Tomorrow Energy
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Holland Battery 3 | Permitted | Tomorrow Energy | Leudal | 11 | 44 | · |
Greenchoice
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Greenchoice battery relocated to Hellegatsplein | Built or due, running not confirmed | Greenchoice | Hellegatsplein wind park | 10 | 10 | 2018 |
De Plaet B.V.
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Windpark De Plaet battery | Built or due, running not confirmed | De Plaet B.V. | Ooltgensplaat | 10 | 20 | 2024 |
GroenLeven
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Woldjerspoor solar park battery | Announced | GroenLeven | Groningen | 10 | 20 | · |
Attero
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Attero Tilburg | Investment decided, not yet being built | Attero | Tilburg | 9 | 18 | 2026 |
(not stated)
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zeeland energy hub battery (unnamed) | Permitted | (not stated) | · | 8.78 | · | · |
a.s.r. Dutch Green Energy Fund I (majority); Rebel Development; Pronewable
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strekdammen battery (Eemshaven) | Investment decided, not yet being built | a.s.r. Dutch Green Energy Fund I (majority); Rebel Development; Pronewable | Eemshaven | 7.5 | 24 | Feb 2027 |
PowerField
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PowerField Wanneperveen | Operating | PowerField | Wanneperveen | · | 52 | 2024 |
| PowerField Valthermond-Emmen | Announced | PowerField | Valthermond | · | 12 | 2023 |
(not stated) host site Buys Glas
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Buys Glas battery | Operating | (not stated) host site Buys Glas | Stramproy | · | 2 | Oct 2025 |
A&M Batteries B.V.
| Battery | Status | Owner | Municipality | MW | MWh | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A&M Batteries Botlek EOS | Permitted | A&M Batteries B.V. | Rotterdam | · | · | · |
Source: nl/hand/batteries.csv, the owner column, each with its web address on the battery’s page.