The Netherlands · the named batteries
Greenchoice Hartel 2 battery
Operating, 20 MW · 40 MWh, in Rotterdam, owned by Greenchoice (financed by Triodos; ownership not stated explicitly). Every fact below is as a published source states it, with the address beside it; a field not shown is one no source gave, and nothing is guessed.
The battery
| Power | 20 MW |
| Capacity | 40 MWh |
| Duration | 2.0 hours |
| Status | Operating, as of 20 October 2026 |
| Stated date | March 2025, delivered and in use |
| Municipality | Rotterdam, Hartelkanaal wind park, Zuid-Holland |
| Placed on the map | at the centre of Rotterdam, its municipality (GeoNames) |
| How sure | A dated source confirms it |
Who is behind it
| Owner | Greenchoice (financed by Triodos; ownership not stated explicitly) |
| Traded by | Greenchoice |
| Built by | Alfen (EPC); Green Energy Storage (developer); Spectral (IT integration) |
What the sources say
Replaced the 2019 10 MW battery at the same site, which was moved to Hellegatsplein (see next row).
Evidence and sources
- source: alfen.com/en/news/alfen-completes-complex-battery-storage…
- source: solarmagazine.nl/nieuws-zonne-energie/i40072/batterij-van-40-meg…
From the owners’, developers’ and builders’ own releases, grid operators’ and permit notices and the trade press, read by Vitreous. No Dutch body publishes a meter, an instruction or a payment for a named battery, so this page carries none. List id NL-B13.