Norway · the named batteries
Future of The Fjords charging battery, Gudvangen
Operating, 2.4 MWh, power not stated, in Aurland. Every fact below is as a published source states it, with the address beside it; a field not shown is one no source gives.
The battery
| Power | not stated by any source |
| Capacity | 2.4 MWh |
| What the sources say about the size | MW not stated |
| Kind | Ferry charging |
| Status | Operating, as of March 2026 |
| Stated date | 2018, actual |
| What it is for | charges an electric ferry where the grid is too weak |
| Municipality | Aurland, Vestland |
| Bidding zone | NO5, the west (Bergen); read from its county |
| Placed on the map | GeoNames, Gudvangen |
Who is behind it
No source read names who is behind it.
What the sources say
A floating battery pack at the quay that lets the Flåm to Gudvangen ferry charge quickly without a stronger grid. Not a market battery. NVE gives 2.4 MWh and no power figure.
Evidence and sources
- NVE fact sheet 04/2026: publikasjoner.nve.no/fakta/2026/fakta2026_04.pdf
Statnett publishes no meter, price or instruction per battery, so this page carries no money; what one megawatt would be paid in each reserve market is on the markets page. List id NO-B06.