Vitreous LabsEnergy transparency

Västervik–Riskula BESS

Announced, 25 MW · 50 MWh, in Kristiinankaupunki, owned by Ilmatar (developer; later owner not stated). Every fact below is as a published source states it, with the address beside it; a field not shown is one no source gave, and nothing is guessed.

The battery

Power25 MW
Capacity50 MWh
Duration2.0 hours
StatusAnnounced, as of 12 October 2026
Owner’s date2028, expected
MunicipalityKristiinankaupunki
Placed on the mapat the centre of Kristiinankaupunki, its municipality (GeoNames)

Who is behind it

OwnerIlmatar (developer; later owner not stated)
DeveloperIlmatar

Ilmatar Battery Development Oy (3337232-9, website ilmatar.fi) exists in YTJ; no source says which company holds this project.

Not published anywhere we have found: ultimate owner, built by, cells. The page says so rather than guessing.

What the sources say

Ilmatar project page (read 12 Oct 2026): stage "under development", estimated figures, operational 2028.

Evidence and sources

From the owners’, developers’ and builders’ own releases, council decisions and permit bulletins, read by Vitreous and checked against the owners’ own words on 12 October 2026; a bracket such as “(Energy-Storage.news only)” in a field means the trade press is still the only source for it. Fingrid publishes no meter, no price and no instruction per battery, so this page carries no money: what one megawatt is paid in Fingrid’s markets is on the markets page, for the whole market and never for a named battery. List id FI-B072.

All batteries  ·  On the map